Making a New Home in Germany: How do Newly Arrived Arabic Refugee Youth Acculturate to Life in Germany?

According to recent estimates, more than 21 million people were fleeing from war, conflicts, and prosecution in 2015 – about half of them being children and adolescents. Refugee youth often endure hardship before and during their escape and once they arrive in their host country are faced with the challenges of building a new home. How do refugee youth react to and deal with the process of adapting to a new socio-cultural environment (acculturation)? Acculturation is a multifaceted process and a number of factors have been identified on the individual, social and broader societal level that influence this process. In the past two years, many young people from Syria, Iraq, and Afghanistan have arrived in Germany. However, due to the recency of these events knowledge of the factors influencing acculturation in newly arrived refugee youth in Germany is virtually absent.

This project aims to study acculturation in newly arrived Arabic speaking refugee youth (the largest population of new arrivals). The project will address questions such as: (1) What are the most pressing challenges faced by newly arrived Arabic refugee youth in Germany?, (2) How does their mental health and well-being affect their adjustment?, (3) What role do family and peer networks play in their adjustment?, (4) How is their social behavior and trust affected by their refugee experience?, (5) What are refugee youths’ hopes and perspectives for the future?

Refugee youth are a vulnerable population. It is thus important to engage them in this research project in a way that reduces potential harm and gives relevance to their lives and experiences. To this end, the project will use a mixed-methods approach combining standardized quantitative measures commonly used in refugee studies with qualitative approaches giving voice to refugee youth’s own perspectives. Moreover, this project will be implemented as a longitudinal project to gain insight into the acculturation process as it unfolds. The project will be carried out primarily by a Syrian doctoral student, who will be provided with the opportunity to pursue her doctoral studies in Germany and who will bring valuable insider knowledge to the project. It is hoped that this research will not only provide insight into how refugee youth make a new home in Germany, but also inform the development of targeted intervention and acculturation programs.

Project members: Lina Alhaddad

Collaborators: Christine Knaevelsrud (FU Berlin), Nadine Stammel (FU Berlin), Robin Goodwin (University of Warwick)


This project is supported by grant from Volkswagen Foundation for refugee researchers.

Making a New Home in Germany: How do Newly Arrived Arabic Refugee Youth Acculturate to Life in Germany?

Nach neusten Schätzungen sind im Jahr 2015 mehr als 21 Millionen Menschen weltweit vor Krieg, Konflikten und Verfolgung geflohen – davon waren mehr als die Hälfte Kinder und Jugendliche. Geflüchtete Jugendliche fliehen oft unter schwierigsten Umständen und sind bei Ihrer Ankunft im Aufnahmeland mit der Aufgabe konfrontiert, sich ein neues Zuhause aufzubauen. Wie reagieren geflüchtete Jugendliche auf diese Herausforderungen und wie erleben sie den Anpassungsprozess an ihre neue soziokulturelle Umgebung (Akkulturation)? Akkulturation ist ein vielschichtiger Prozess und eine Reihe von Faktoren auf der individuellen, sozialen sowie der gesellschaftlichen Ebene spielen dabei eine Rolle. In den letzten zwei Jahren sind vor allem geflüchtete Jugendliche aus Syrien, Irak und Afghanistan in Deutschland angekommen. Aufgrund der Aktualität der Ereignisse wissen wir sehr wenig darüber, welche Faktoren bei der Akkulturation von neu angekommene geflüchtete Jugendliche in Deutschland eine Rolle spielen.

Dieses Projekt macht es sich zur zentralen Aufgabe, Akkulturation bei geflüchteten, arabischsprachigen Jugendlichen zu untersuchen, die die größte Gruppe der Neuankömmlinge darstellt. In dem Projekt soll unter anderem folgenden Fragen nachgegangen werden: (1) Was sind die größten Herausforderungen, mit denen sich neuangekommene geflüchtete Jugendliche konfrontiert sehen?, (2) Wie wirken sich psychische Gesundheit und allgemeines Wohlbefinden auf die kulturelle Anpassungsprozesse aus?, (3) Welche Rolle spielen dabei Familien- und Freundesnetzwerke?, (4) Wie sind Sozialverhalten und Vertrauen von der Fluchterfahrung geprägt?, (5) Welche Wünsche und Hoffnungen haben geflüchtete Jugendliche für die Zukunft?

Geflüchtete Jugendliche stellen eine besonders vulnerable Population dar. Daher ist es wichtig, sie so in den Forschungsprozess zu involvieren, dass mögliche negative Folgen verhindert und ein Bezug zum eigenen Leben und zu eigenen Erfahrungen hergestellt wird. Um dies zu erreichen, wird das Projekt mit einem gemischt-methodischen Ansatz vorgehen (mixed methods): standardisierte, quantitative Messinstrumente, die üblicherweise in Studien mit Geflüchteten zum Einsatz kommen, werden mit qualitativen Ansätzen kombiniert, die verstärkt geflüchtete Jugendliche selbst zu Wort kommen lassen. Zudem wird das Projekt als eine Longitudinalstudie implementiert, um detailliertere Einblicke in den zeitlichen Ablauf des Akkulturationsprozesses zu erhalten. Dieses Projekt soll neue Erkenntnisse liefern, wie sich neu angekommene, geflüchtete Jugendliche in Deutschland ein neues Zuhause aufbauen, und kann darüber hinaus auch eine Grundlage zur Entwicklung von gezielten Interventions- und Akkulturationsprogrammen bilden.

Projektmitarbeiterin: Lina Alhaddad

Kollaborationspartner_innen: Christine Knaevelsrud (FU Berlin), Nadine Stammel (FU Berlin), Robin Goodwin (University of Warwick)


Dieses Projekt wird gefördert durch ein Zusatzmodul der Volkswagen Stiftung für geflüchtete Wissenschaftler_innen.