Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Undergraduate program

Please note, that the mono bachelor "educational science" is solely instructed in German and therefore sufficient German knowledge is a key requirement for successful admission!

What is the profile of the bachelor's degree in educational science?

The bachelor's degree in educational science is a research and application-oriented mono bachelor's degree (180 CP) that trains students on an interdisciplinary basis. There is a wide range of possible future fields of work open to graduates of this program.

During the course of their studies, students can get an insight into various fields of activity such as early childhood and adolescence, further education or education management. Particularly noteworthy is the comprehensive basic training in empirical research methods students receive (quantitative and qualitative methods).

In addition, the Faculty of Education and Psychology has a mentoring program (only German) which adds a special aspect in student to student support. With this offer, first-semester students, as so-called "mentees", have the opportunity to get an experienced mentor from a higher semester for guidance during their early studies. In addition to the mere course content, this can provide support, for example, in navigating the new everyday university life, in independent learning and / or in coordinating between your new place of residence and jobs to finance your studies.


Which personal priorities are possible?

Individual interests can already be found and developed during the mandatory internship (3rd semester), as well as through the specialization section in the degree and the associated projects (starting from the 4th semester) as well as in the final bachelor thesis. Freely selectable module offered in the affiliated and ABV (free modules related to bigger work field for example IT or language courses) area also create opportunities to supplement your own thematic fields of action across the board (e.g. with regard to your later professional career).


What are the options after graduation?

  • The bachelor's degree in educational science entitles the holder of this degree to continue studying in various research and application-oriented master's programs.
  • For further academic training, the Freie Universität Berlin offers the consecutive Master’s course Educational Research (120 CP) in the Faculty of Education and Psychology.
  • A master’s degree entitles the holder to pursue a doctorate.
  • It is also possible to enter an educational professional field directly after graduation. Here you will find insights into possible career prospects (only German).


What is the difference between university and "Hochschule" (College for Applied Sciences)?

Bachelor programs at universities are research and application-oriented. Studying at a university, furthermore, introduces a scientific field more clearly than at a "Hochschule". Here, students have the opportunity and the personal responsibility to set a personal focus. The later professional and research practice after graduation is relatively open and flexible. In contrast, courses of study at a "Hochschule" (Collge for Applied Sciences) are more oriented towards practice in a specific occupational field more hands on.

Social work courses at a "Hochschule" in Berlin usually end with state recognition in accordance with the Berlin Social Professions Recognition Act. This does not apply to the Bachelor course in Educational Science at the Freie Universität Berlin. In many areas, however, the graduates (additional information only in German) are recognized as (social) educational specialists in child and youth welfare (additional information only in German).

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Bachelor

Welches Profil hat der Bachelor Bildungs- und Erziehungswissenschaft?

Der Bachelor Bildungs- und Erziehungswissenschaft ist ein forschungs- sowie anwendungsorientierter Mono-Bachelorstudiengang (180 LP), und bildet Studierende interdisziplinär aus. Absolvent*innen steht ein breites Spektrum an möglichen späteren Arbeitsfeldern offen.

Studierende können im Verlauf ihres Studiums einen Einblick in diverse Handlungsfelder wie Frühe Kindheit und Jugend, Weiterbildung oder Bildungsmanagement bekommen. Hervorzuheben ist besonders die umfassende Grundausbildung in empirischen Forschungsmethoden (quantitative und qualitative Verfahren). 

Außerdem ist am Fachbereich Erziehungswissenschaft und Psychologie das Mentoringprogramm besonders. Bei diesem Angebot bekommen Erstsemesterstudierende als sogenannte "Mentees" die Möglichkeit einen/eine erfahrene Mentor*in aus einem höheren Fachsemester zur Anleitung zu bekommen. Diese können über die bloßen Studieninhalte hinaus zum Beispiel in der Navigation des neuen Unialltags, beim selbstständigen Lernen und/oder der Koordination zwischen neuem Wohnort und Jobs zur Studienfinanzierung unterstützen.


Welche persönlichen Schwerpunktsetzungen sind möglich?

Eigene Interessen können bereits im Berufspraktikum (3. Semester), über den Vertiefungsbereich und den dazugehörigen Projekten (ab dem 4. Semester) sowie in der abschließenden Bachelorarbeit gefunden und weiterentwickelt werden. Frei wählbare Modulangebote im Affinen und ABV Bereich schaffen ebenfalls Gelegenheiten eigene thematische Handlungsfelder übergreifend zu ergänzen (z.B. hinsichtlich des späteren beruflichen Werdegangs).


Was für Optionen gibt es nach dem Bachelorabschluss?

  • Der Bachelorabschluss Bildungs- und Erziehungswissenschaft berechtigt zum Weiterstudium unterschiedlicher, sowohl forschungs- als auch anwendungsorientierter Masterstudiengänge.
  • Zur weiteren akademischen Ausbildung bietet die Freie Universität Berlin am Fachbereich Erziehungswissenschaft und Psychologie den konsekutiven Masterstudiengang Bildungswissenschaft an (120 LP).
  • Ein Masterabschluss berechtigt zur Promotion.
  • Ebenso ist es möglich, nach dem Studienabschluss direkt in ein pädagogisches Berufsfeld einzusteigen. Hier finden Sie Einblicke in mögliche Berufsperspektiven.


Was unterscheidet die Universität von der Hochschule?

Bachelorstudiengängen an Universitäten sind forschungs- und anwendungsorientiert. Ein Studium an einer Universität führt jedoch deutlicher als an Hochschulen in einen Wissenschaftsbereich ein. Studierende haben hier die Chance und die Eigenverantwortung, einen persönlichen Schwerpunkt zu setzen. Die spätere Berufs- und Forschungspraxis nach dem Abschluss ist relativ offen und flexibel gehalten. Studienangebote an Hochschulen sind demgegenüber stärker auf die Praxis in einem konkreten Berufsfeld ausgerichtet.

Studiengänge der Sozialen Arbeit enden an Berliner Hochschulen in der Regel mit einer staatlichen Anerkennung nach dem Sozialberufe-Anerkennungsgesetz Berlin. Dies gilt nicht für den BA-Studiengang Bildungs- und Erziehungswissenschaft an der FU Berlin. In vielen Bereichen werden die Absolventinnen und Absolventen jedoch als (sozial-)pädagogische Fachkräfte der Kinder- und Jugendhilfe anerkannt.