Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Master's Program

Please note, that the mono bachelor "educational science" is solely instructed in German and therefore sufficient German knowledge is a key requirement for successful admission!

What is the profile of the master’s degree in educational research?

The consecutive master’s degree in educational research is a research-oriented study course with a clear focus on empirical educational research. Graduates of this program retain in-depth knowledge of educational processes as well as in-depth knowledge regarding the methods of empirical social research. In addition to the later workfield of research there is are diverse career prospects (only in German) that go beyond research.


How is the course structured?

  • In the 1st and 2nd semester, students deepen their range of knowledge in the field of educational science (modules 1 and 2), specialize in qualitative or quantitative research methods (module 3) and continue to focus on their personal interests in one of the advanced areas: early childhood education, social pedagogy or further education (module 4).
  • In the 3rd semester, the research project (module 6) is carried out based on these principles and - in addition - module 5 "Research planning and publication" is studied.
  • In the 4th semester, the research activities of modules 5 and 6 should result in the master's thesis.

The master’s degree comprises a total of 120 credit points, which, according to the standard period of study, are completed over the course of four semesters. The course ends with a Master degree of Arts (M.A.).

This Master’s degree then gives students the opportunity to start their careers in research as well as in other applied areas. If you finish with a very good degree, you can take on the path to a doctoral degree.

Examples of possible occupational fields include work in university or non-university social research institutions, in the area of quality assurance and evaluation, in the management of educational institutions or advisory activities in the context of educational administration or policy.


What is the difference between a consecutive and a continued education master’s degree?

A consecutive master’s degree is a course that builds on the content of a previous bachelor’s degree in a similar topic and is usually studied immediately afterwards. It serves the further academic qualification and, with a very good degree, can pave the way to a doctorate. A consecutive master’s degree usually consists of 120 credit points (LP). Only together with the 180 credit points previously achieved in the Bachelor’s degree will at least 300 CP be achieved and thus the authorization to use a Master’s degree (M.A. or M.Sc.) is obtained.

In terms of content, a continued education master’s degree does not necessarily build on a previous course of study. Admission requirement is often at least one year of professional activity in the appropriate professional workfield and serves as a further education specialization in certain fields of activity. It is usually chargeable and comprises 60 to 90 LP. Since the above-mentioned 300 LP are usually not achieved with a master’s degree, this alone does not entitle the holder to use the master’s title.

When choosing a master’s course, the respective regulations on allocation of study placements must always be carefully observed!

Mentoring_gross
logo_osa
Beratungswegweiser_3b_neu

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Master

Welches Profil hat der Master Bildungswissenschaft?

Der konsekutive Master Bildungswissenschaft ist ein forschungsorientierter Studiengang mit einem deutlichen Fokus auf empirischer Bildungsforschung. Absolventinnen und Absolventen dieses Studiengangs verfügen über vertieftes Wissen zu Bildungs- und Erziehungsprozessen sowie über vertiefte Kenntnisse der Methoden empirischer Sozialforschung. Er bietet vielseitige Berufsperspektiven, die über Tätigkeiten in der Forschung hinausgehen. 


Wie ist das Studium aufgebaut?

  • Im 1. und 2. Fachsemester vertiefen Studierende ihr Wissensspektrum im Bereich der Bildungswissenschaft (Module 1 und 2), spezialisieren sich im Laufe des Studiums auf qualitative oder quantitative Forschungsmethoden (Modul 3) und orientieren sich weiter nach ihrem persönlichen Interesse in den Schwerpunktbereichen Frühkindlicher Bildung und Erziehung, Sozialpädagogik oder Weiterbildung (Modul 4).
  • Im 3. Fachsemester wird aufbauend auf diesen Grundlagen das Forschungsprojekt (Modul 6) durchgeführt und - begleitend dazu - das Modul 5 "Forschungsplanung und -publikation" studiert.
  • Im 4. Fachsemester soll aus den Forschungsaktivitäten der Module 5 und 6 die Masterarbeit hervorgehen.

Der Master umfasst insgesamt 120 Leistungspunkte, die nach Regelstudienzeit im Laufe von vier Fachsemestern abgeschlossen werden. Das Studium wird mit einem Master of Arts (M.A.) abgeschlossen.

Anschließend gibt dieser Master Studierenden sowohl die Möglichkeit einen Berufseinstieg in der Forschung als auch in einem Anwendungsbereich zu finden. Bei einem sehr guten Abschluss kann der Weg zur Promotion beschritten werden.

Beispiele für mögliche Berufsfelder sind u.a. Arbeit in universitären oder außeruniversitären Sozialforschungseinrichtungen, im Bereich von Qualitätssicherung und Evaluation, in der Steuerung von Bildungsinstitutionen oder Beratungstätigkeiten im Rahmen der Bildungsadministration oder -politik.


Was unterscheidet den konsekutiven vom weiterbildenden Master?

Ein konsekutiver Master ist ein auf das vorherige Bachelorstudium inhaltlich aufbauender Studiengang, der in der Regel gleich im Anschluss studiert wird. Er dient der weiteren akademischen Qualifikation und kann, bei einem sehr guten Abschluss, den Weg zur Promotion ebnen. Ein konsekutiver Master umfasst i.d.R. 120 Leistungspunkte (LP). Nur zusammen mit den zuvor im Bachelorstudium erbrachten 180 Leistungspunkten, werden mindestens 300 LP erreicht und damit die Berechtigung erlangt einen Mastertitel (M.A. oder M.Sc.) zu führen.

Ein weiterbildender Master baut inhaltlich nicht notwendigerweise auf dem vorangegangenen Studium auf. Zugangsvoraussetzung ist oft eine mindestens einjährige berufliche Tätigkeit im jeweils passenden Berufsfeld und dient einer weiterbildenden Spezialisierung in bestimmten Tätigkeitsfeldern. Er ist üblicherweise kostenpflichtig und umfasst 60 bis 90 LP. Da mit einem weiterbildenden Master i.d.R. die o.g. 300 LP nicht erreicht werden, berechtigt er alleine nicht zum Führen des Mastertitels.

Grundsätzlich ist bei der Wahl eines Masterstudiengangs die jeweilige Zugangssatzung immer genau zu beachten!